Two Howard County students earn full-tuition Scholarship through Community foundation

Five 2021 Lilly Endowment Inc. Community Scholars finalists receive $1,500 scholarships

December 9, 2020 -- A National Honors Society member at Northwestern High School and the senior class president at Eastern High School are the 2021 Community Foundation of Howard County Lilly Endowment Inc. Community Scholars.

Jaeden Hannah, son of Kraig and Brandy Hannah, and Jennah Jones, daughter of Steven and Kristy Jones, will receive four-year full tuition to an accredited public or private nonprofit Indiana university or college of their choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

About Jaeden Hannah

Jaeden is senior class president at Eastern High School. This National Honor Society member is on the football and track teams, is part of the Encore Singers show choir, and has performed in several school musicals. He has volunteered his time at the Shiloh Park Retreat and Conference Center, is involved in Wildcat Creek conservation activities, and has coached youth flag football. Jaeden will attend Indiana Wesleyan University and major in history.

About Jennah Jones

Jennah, a Northwestern High School student, is a member of the National Honor Society who tutors fellow students. She is a member of the German club, plays on the tennis team and serves as manager of the swim team. She is active in her church and volunteers at Ascension St. Vincent Therapy Kokomo. Jennah plans to study biology at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

About the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Including the 24th cohort, 4,912 Indiana high school students have received more than $424 million in scholarship tuition through the LECSP since the program’s inception in 1998. With the 2020 awards, 47 Howard County residents have received the scholarship, representing an approximate value of $4.2 million.

The Community Foundation of Howard County’s criteria used in the finalists’ selection process include academic achievement, financial need, potential for success, preference for first-generation college attendees, school, community and work activities, and an interview. Sixty-eight Howard County students applied for the scholarship.

“The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship allows students to be able to focus on academics and not finances, which is especially important given the challenges and the sacrifices students have made this year,” said Glenn Grundmann, chairman of the Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee. “It is our hope that the students remain in Indiana and participate in the communities where they reside.”

After the Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee selected the seven finalists, the names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for the selection of recipients. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Community Foundation of Howard County recognized the accomplishments of the other five finalists with $1,500 scholarships. They are Ava Briggs, Kokomo High School; Mason Harrell, Northwestern High School; Truman Howerton, Taylor High School; Clayton Kelly, Western High School; and Leann Saul, Northwestern High School.

The Community Foundation of Howard County, Inc. was formed as a not-for-profit public charity in March 1991. The Foundation seeks to serve donors and make grants to benefit the citizens of Howard County. For more information about the Community Foundation, contact Greg Aaron at 765-454-7298 or The Web site contains information about making gifts to endowment funds, scholarships and grantmaking.

Back to Top

Sign up for our E-News!